Monday, October 3, 2011

Day 1 - We Begin

Our Ideal Protein plan officially started on Friday, September 30, 2011.

Today, Ed and I started Ideal Protein.  We were both extremely nervous.  Can we do this?  Will we like the food?  Will we be hungry all the time?  Can we fight the temptation to cheat?

I started off my day with the Chocolate Drink - no fancy description there - that's exactly what it was, a chocolate drink.  I've never been a big breakfast eater and have used Slim Fast shakes in the past to help me get breakfast in so this wasn't a far cry from what I was used to.  The drink was actually pretty good.  I put it in the freezer a little bit to get more of a slushy consistency.

Breakfast to lunch went well.  I decided to have the Tomato Basil soup for lunch along with some sauteed mushrooms and broccoli.  The directions clearly tell you not to overheat the soup.  I put it in a saucepan on the stove and proceeded to overheat it.  It tasted awful.  I also wasn't crazy about the broccoli as it didn't have the ton of butter on it that I am used to.  I immediately got depressed about the whole thing.  Ed was kind enough to swap me soups.  He made the Cream of Chicken and was smart enough to stick with the microwave heating method.  His was much better but I still wasn't crazy about the flavor.

After lunch, I felt very nauseated.  This is a common symptom during the first several days.  I tried to drink more water but that didn't help too much.  Eventually the feeling passed but it did come and go during the first day.

We were both starving by dinner time.  Ed grilled some mini pork chops and I sauteed some more mushrooms and had 2 pickles.  I have a feeling this veggie thing is going to be difficult for me.  I tend to only like my veggies with lots of butter which is clearly not allowed right now.  The pork tasted magnificent!  It was so nice to eat a solid, non-veggie food. 

We were both pretty tired the whole day and feeling a little down overall.  It was clear our bodies were screaming out for carbs and sugar.  Thankfully, I had been eating a little cleaner over the past two weeks attempting a gluten-free diet so my body wasn't freaking out quite as much as it would have been had I gone straight from a diet of crap foods to this. 

Oh yeah, we also peed a million times during the day.  Nice eh?

For our snack, we both made the butterscotch pudding and were pleasantly surprised by how good it was.  I actually couldn't finish it because I was too full!  I'm not sure if that is a no no or not but that's what happened folks.

We went up to bed pretty early.  I keep telling Ed if we can just make it through 3 days, it will get easier.  I sure hope I'm right!